em Does Self Image

I do not own a full size mirror.

As a matter of fact, the only mirror in my house is the one we have on the bathroom vanity.

image

Typically before my yoga class, I like to
try to sneak a jog in. Yesterday’s jog was a very challenging 3 miles. I tried to pick a route to avoid hills, but considering my entire town is a hill, it was an epic fail. Instead, my route included one of the largest hills in my town. With that in mind, it was still a fairly successful run. I hit a PR (beating both my outdoor and treadmill records) for a mile at 11 minutes and 15 seconds. The whole jog was paced at 13 minutes per mile. Slowly but surely, I am achieving my goals.

Yoga is always a reward for that hard run. Putting all my tension on the mat is always fulfilling. Yesterday, it was specifically more fulfilling than normal. The class wasn’t particularly more challenging than usual, but I was able to take a good look at myself in the full length mirror. My body looked beautiful. I think it was the first time I was truly impressed by my hard work. Not only I am starting to see the changes that I want to see in myself, I am learning so much about who I am as a person and what my “limits” really are.

I am really excited to keep taking this journey on the pavement, the mat, and the gym. So much so, that I was graced with the wonderful news that I won a Spartan Race Entry Giveaway hosted by fellow blogger, Jane Likes to Run. It really was the cherry on top of a wonderful day.

In light of all of this success, I have decided to change my training schedule up a little bit. Starting next week, I will be making a weekly mileage goal for running like some of the bloggers I’ve been following have. I am looking forward to the spice it will bring to my workout goals.

image

Tomorrow is Friday, and it seems as though the rest of the week is promising.

Well wishes to all!

PS: What running applications do you all use to track your progress?

13 thoughts on “em Does Self Image

      1. Hmm that’s strange! I’ve been using it for years…I trained for my first 5K with it this summer (I know huuuuge race haha). I know it’s a little temperamental so you have to really make sure you hit end workout or it’ll keep going (killed my run time last week doing that)

        Liked by 1 person

em does Comments.

